Week One:

Posted: January 18, 2015 in Uncategorized

Well the first week is done and I have posted my first journal, check out my journal page.

I found some interesting information while researching about embracing E-Communication in the classroom. As intructors we need to connect to our students and in this day and age it is not necessarily a face to face connection. Most students text, Tweet or post on Facebook more than they do anything else. How many times have you seen a circle of teenagers standing in a circle texting someone else that is probably not in their group, or maybe they are.

So as instructors we need to find ways of making that connection and showing them ways of using technology to help them learn. Even with that said I have a few students that technology scares them and they do not take to it like others. Unfortunately technology is something that we all have to accept and learn how to use. As in this short video of a college professor that invites his students to text their questions to a teaching assistant. I personally think this a great way of getting those shy students to maybe voice their oprinions and questions. Now to get a teaching assistant, ha ha.

Comments
  1. You raise a great point about age or skill diversity in the classroom. A few years ago I would have felt singled out for not knowing how to tweet or post an I-Message. Thankfully I have teenagers at home, and I was willing to learn. I appreciate my kids’ patience through that curve. I wonder if this same happens in college classes today? I wonder if we can encourage community building by having the more tech savvy students mentor the less tech savvy, whatever their age. (There could be some younger students who don’t have these skills too.) Tweeting questions to the instructor (in this case pastor) is something that our pastor incorporated into his service. It was a hit. In terms of breaking down barriers, using twitter was a great way to enrich the message.

Leave a comment